The APRA Silver Scroll Awards took over the Dunedin Town Hall for a fantastic evening of music and entertainment last week

By Dunedin Venues | Posted: Thursday October 5, 2017

Last Thursday saw the prestigious APRA Silver Scroll Awards descend on Dunedin for a night of thrilling performances and exciting speeches.

Lorde took the top prize for the evening claiming the 2017 APRA Silver Scroll Award for her international hit song Green Light.

Ella Yelich O’Connor, along with her co-writers Jack Antonoff and Joel Little were unable to be at the ceremony held at the Town Hall, but were thrilled to win the award, and Ella sent this message from America.

“I can’t believe it. I really wanted to win the Silver Scroll Award, I just feel like it’s so prestigious and important. I always love and respect the songs that end up in the Silver Scrolls."

Lorde will be performing at the Dunedin Town Hall for a second time when she brings her New Zealand tour to the venue on Tuesday 7 November. 

Nominee Aldous Harding, who was also up for the Silver Scroll Award for her song Horizon, is also due to play at the Dunedin Centre on Wednesday 29 November, tickets are still available.  

KVKA and Stuss performed her song in front of the captivated audience at the Town Hall last week. 

Congratulations to Dunedin band The Clean, inducted into the NZ Music Hall of Fame as part of the 2017 APRA Silver Scroll Awards.

Full list of Finalists

2017 APRA Silver Scroll Award

"Close Your Eyes" - Bic Runga and Kody Nielson

"Greenlight" - Ella Yelich O'Conner (Lorde), Jack Antonoff and Joel Little - Winner

"Horizon" - Hannah Sian Topp (Aldous Harding)

"Life of the Party" - Chelsea Jade Metcalf and Leroy Clampitt

"Richard" - Nadia Reid

APRA Maioha Award

"Atua Whiowhio" - Kingi Kiriona and Jeremy Mayall

"Raupatu" - Alien Weaponry - Winner

"Taku Mana" - Maisey Rika

Sounz Contemporary Award

"Incident Tableaux Part One" - Chris Gendall

"Serendipity Fields" - Jeroen Speak

"Torino - Echoes on Putorino Improvisations by Rob Thorne" - Salina Fisher  - Winner

APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award

"Jean" - Peter Hobbs

"One Thousand Ropes" - Tim Prebble - Winner

"Spookers" - Marc Chesterman

APRA Best Original Music in a Series 

"800 Words" - Karl Steven

"Hillary" - Claire Cowan - Winner

"Terrry Teo" - Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper